MapInfo Pro

Expand all | Collapse all

Workspaces forgetting settings

  • 1.  Workspaces forgetting settings

    Posted 12 days ago
    It's a fairly minor annoyance, but...On reopening a workspace containing rasters and images in several different original projections, it always reverts to the 'Popular Visualisation GRS' projection in spite of having previously saved it with a different projection.  Similarly, workspaces never retain any changes I make to the buttons on the Quick Access toolbar - it always reverts to the default on reopening.

    Are these behaviours by design, or are they unique to my installation? I'm using v2019, with the Discover plug-in (v20).

    ------------------------------
    Mark Duffett
    Mineral Resources Tasmania
    Department of State Growth
    Rosny Park
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Workspaces forgetting settings

    Pitney Bowes
    Posted 12 days ago
    Hi Mark,

    There are certain preferences that are saved for a session and there are certain preferences that come up as default. Please check your preferences in the Backstage > Options > System Preferences > Startup and Workspaces. These preferences will come up as default, everytime you open MapInfo Pro.

    ------------------------------
    Shweta Shukla
    Pitney Bowes Software India
    Noida
    ------------------------------



  • 3.  RE: Workspaces forgetting settings

    Pitney Bowes
    Posted 12 days ago
    For the QAT,

    Not sure what kind of changes are you making and trying to save.

    Please try the below steps and see if it works for you:

    Click on the QAT button 

    Click on 'More Commands' from the drop-down menu


    In the Customize Ribbon window > Choose the Quick Access Toolbar from the left pane.
    Choose a command from the left drop-down list and add it to the left hand pane and click OK.  This command will then show in the Quick access toolbar , in the upper left hand corner of the map.



    ------------------------------
    Shweta Shukla
    Pitney Bowes Software India
    Noida
    ------------------------------



  • 4.  RE: Workspaces forgetting settings

    Posted 12 days ago
    Thanks Shweta, your first tip has proved a winner.  Ticking the 'Include Window Location, State or Size Changes' and 'Include Tool Windows with Workspace' options in Workspace Preferences has resulted in the workspace remembering the added command buttons in the QAT.

    However, it's still reverting to 'Popular Visualisation CRS' projection on reopening, so I'm still looking for a solution to that.

    ------------------------------
    Mark Duffett
    Mineral Resources Tasmania
    Department of State Growth
    Rosny Park
    ------------------------------



  • 5.  RE: Workspaces forgetting settings

    Pitney Bowes
    Posted 12 days ago
    Good to know  the suggestion helped.

    For the Projections, please check the settings in Backstage > Options > Window Preferences.
    In the Map Window > Projections tab > check the Table Projections.

    Regards,
    Shweta

    ------------------------------
    Shweta Shukla
    Pitney Bowes Software India
    Noida
    ------------------------------



  • 6.  RE: Workspaces forgetting settings

    Posted 12 days ago
    Hi Mark
    Are you using Bing mapping as a background?
    If so, Bing trumps all other projections that may have been set and you cannot change out of CRS projection
    (just try changing the projection using Map Options!!)

    ------------------------------
    John Ievers
    CDR Group
    Hope Valley, United Kingdom
    ------------------------------